Celebrating Small Victories #4

victoryAfter work today, I got on the bus and scanned my bus card. The bus driver asked me something but I had no idea what he was saying. I responded with “no entiendo” (I don’t understand) and took my seat. Half way through the bus ride I realized that I should take my confusion and use it as an opportunity to practice Spanish. ( I mean hello, I’m in Spain. I should take every opportunity to practice when I can). Photo

I moved to the front of the bus and asked the driver to explain to me what he meant. He told me he was making a joke about the cold weather. When I finally understood I felt triumphant. After the bus driver explained the joke, we continued to talk for the rest of the ride.

Thank you bus driver, you made my day.

In case you missed it, check out:

Celebrating Small Victories #3

Until next time,

Chelsea

18 thoughts on “Celebrating Small Victories #4

  1. I love Spain, the culture and the language although am very unpracticed now! Both my daughters studied Spanish at school, the eldest worked as an au pair last summer for her Spanish teacher’s brother, my aunt lives near Valencia and my sister used to work in Benidorm. Loving your approach to life!

    • I love Spanish too! That’s really nice that you have so many ties. I hope you continue reading about my journey :-). I also have a youtube channel if you’re interested. I hope you get your practice in!

      Chelsea

  2. That’s awesome. I’m glad you went back to ask for clarification! I’ve been trying to be braver with things like that too, lately. Last night after work (I live in Taiwan) I went for a chair massage and the masseuse asked me a question in Chinese that I didn’t understand. He asked me several times. I told him I didn’t know, I didn’t understand. Finally I asked him what that word meant. He couldn’t really explain it. So when the massage was done, I asked some of the other employees. They all chimed in and tried to help me understand. In the end, I left with relaxed shoulders and a new vocabulary word! Keep up the great learning! And thanks for sharing your success! Bravo!

  3. Way to go Chelsea! I treated the few times I didn’t have my Spanish family around me last summer as a new adventure and practiced what little Spanish I knew. It felt empowering to try on my own. I got a chuckle out of reading ‘no entiendo’ in your blog. I used that phrase a lot. :)

  4. Immersing yourself in conversation with new people is the best kind of learning! I lived in Spain for about a year as well and loved every moment. Un dia volvere en Espana, el pais de mis suenos. Disfruta de tu tiempo alla. (Excuse the lack of accents… English keyboards and all that.)

Leave a Reply

