Celebrating the Small Victories #1 & 2

victoryIt’s easy to see the larger picture. I want to become fluent in Spanish and proficient in another language, have fabulous career where I can travel, and help U.S. citizens and immigrants. Photo

What’s not easy is the work. You know, the steps that I need to take in order to reach this dream that I envision.

The process, or journey I should say, takes time and commitment. It’s not like learning another language and living surviving in another country is a walk in a park. Sure it’s fun, but it’s difficult. Thus, it’s easy to fall into the self-pity trap where the world is bleak and 100% unforgiving.

Criticizing myself for my shortcomings will not help me achieve my goals sooner. I should of course learn from my mistakes, but more importantly, I should celebrate the small victories.

These small victories will help me reach the larger picture. While it doesn’t seem like I’m making progress, I am.

I want to start a series on this blog which documents my small victories. I hope readers who read this in the future can see where I started and how I got to the place I envisioned.

Small Victory #1:

I was sitting in the teacher’s lounge of my school talking to one the teachers. I was able to have a conversation with her. At the end of our break she said that I spoke well and made only a few grammatical mistakes.

This is a huge deal for me because sometimes, I feel like my Spanish is atrocious. I have difficulty with grammar and vocabulary.

Small Victory #2:

I was able to talk to my roommate from Galicia, Spain while making pasta in the kitchen. My roommate, I love her to death, but she speaks crazy-fast-spanish that sounds rhythmic. When I first met her, I couldn’t understand a word she said. In response, I shook my head and meekly said si, or no entiendo (I don’t understand).

But today, I held my ground. I had a conversation with her, as if I were speaking in English. At times it felt natural.

What are your small victories for today? Do you celebrate them?

In cased you’ve missed it, check out:

                My Spanish Progress Video Week 4

 I Feel Awkward

I Want to Be Like Her

Until next time,

Chelsea

_________________

Visit me!

Facebook

Youtube

4 thoughts on “Celebrating the Small Victories #1 & 2

  1. Congrats on your victories. By all means celebrate them. They will build and build over time.

    ‘No entiendo’ was a stable in my Spanish travels this summer. I also learned ‘no confio en ti’ very quickly because the son in my host family would teach me inappropriate things to say. I hope your roommate doesn’t steer you wrong with the language.

Leave a Reply

